Megalithic sites

Rügen has over 250 sacred megalithic sites to explore, including several close to Himmelreich. These sites were built in the Bronze Age as graves and sacred sites for rituals. Klick here for an extensive list of megalithic sites to visit on Rügen.

Here is a link to an interesting story about Rügen in English by Ludwig Kosegarten who rediscovered the island in 1775 after it had been all but forgotten by the outside world.

If you are interested in the mythology of this fabled island, then visit Rügen myths

Lancken-Granitz Dolmens

The Lancken-Granitz Dolmens are a group of seven megalithic tombs in the Lancken-Granitz municipality on Rügen, Northern Germany. Erected during the middle Neolithic, when they were used by the Funnelbeaker culture, at least some were in use until the early Bronze Age. Three of them are encircled by solitary rocks forming either rectangles or a stone circle, one has a solitary "guardian stone" on its eastern side.

Neuensien Grabhügel 1

Just several kilometers up the B196 towards Bergen, can be found the Neuensien Grabhügel 1. Just off the bicycle path leading from Himmelreich, it is found in a row of trees separating two fields. The first to record the site in the 1840s, Johann Gottfried Ludwig Kosegarten, found a largely intact burial chamber and the remains of a hill pile. He found all six support stones (two each at the long side and one each at the narrow sides) in situ and all three capstones were still in their original positions with single stone slabs between them.

Posewald

To the south of Himmelreich, reachable by bicycle, are the megalithic stone graves of Posewald. The grave is located just a few meters north of Posewald at the fork in the road leading to Viervitz and the railway line. In the vicinity there are several other megalithic tombs. Located 670 m east are the megalithic tombs at Seelvitz, 1.7 km southeast are the megalithic tombs at Nadelitz and 2 km west are the megalithic tombs at Lovitz. In Nadelitz, Nistelitz and Putbus are also several burial mounds.

Riesenberg Barrow

Nobbin is best known for the megalithic tomb known as the Riesenberg (also Großsteingrab Riesenberg). The tomb was constructed of glacial erratic boulders and dates back to the New Stone Age in Rügen. It is one of the largest stone graves in North Germany and lies just a few meters from the steep coast on the bay of Tromper Wiek, immediately by the cliff top path.

Siebenbrüder

The site closest to Himmelreich is the Siebenbrüder, a megalithic grave chamber surrounded by a ring of stones. Reached by foot in around 20 minutes from Himmelreich along the Mustitzer tree-lined alley. The site is rather intact and one of the best megalithic sites on the island, though not very well known.

For more info klick here and here

Contact
↗ Check room availability

Großsteingräber

Auf Rügen gibt es über 250 Großsteingräber, einige davon befinden sich in der Nähe von Himmelreich. Sie stammen aus der Bronzezeit und dienten als Gräber oder als heilige Stätten für Rituale.
Hier eine umfassende Liste der Großsteingräber Rügens.

Hier ein Link zu einer interessanten Geschichte über Rügen (auf Englisch von Ludwig Kosegarten, der die Insel 1775 neu entdeckte, nachdem sie von der Welt da draußen beinahe vergessen worden war.)

Wenn Sie an der Mythologie dieser sagenumwobenen Insel interessiert sind, besuchen Sie: Sagen der Insel Rügen

Lancken-Granitz Dolmens

Die Dolmen bei Lanken-Granitz sind sieben Megalith-Gräber in der Gemeinde Lancken-Granitz auf Rügen. Errichet während der Jungsteinzeit, als sie von der Trichterbecherkultur genutzt wurden, waren zumindest einige bis zur Nordischen Bronzezeit in Verwendung. Drei von Ihnen sind von einzelnen Felsen umschlossen, die entweder Rechtecke oder einen Steinkreis bilden, bei einem Grab findet sich ein Wächterstein an der Ostseite.

Neuensien Grabhügel 1

Einige Kilometer die B196 entlang Richtung Bergen befindet sich der Neuensien Grabhügel 1. Nur wenige Meter von dem von Himmelreich kommenden Fahrradweg entfernt befindet sich der Grabhügel bei einer Baumreihe, die zwei Felder voneinander trennt. Johann Gottfried Ludwig Kosegarten, der erste, der um 1840 Aufzeichnungen von dem Grabhügel machte, fand eine weitgehend erhaltene Grabkammer und die Überreste eines Hügelgrabs. Vor Ort waren alle sechs Auflagersteine (jeweils zwei an der Längsseite und einer an den Schmalseiten) und alle drei Decksteine noch an ihren ursprünglichen Positionen, mit einzelnen zwischen ihnen befindlichen Steinplatten.

Posewald

Südlich von Himmelreich und gut mit dem Fahrrad erreichbar sind die Großsteingräber von Posewald. Das Grab befindet sich wenige Meter nördlich von Posewald bei der Gabelung der Straße nach Viervitz und der Eisenbahnlinie. In unmittelbarer Nähe gibt es mehrere weitere Großsteingräber. 670 m weiter östlich sind die Großsteingräber bei Seelvitz, 1,7 km südöstlich die Großsteingräber bei Nadelitz und 2 km westlich die Großsteingräber bei Lovitz. In Nadelitz, Nistelitz und Putbus gibt es zudem mehrere Hügelgräber.

Riesenberg Barrow

Nobbin ist bekannt für die Riesenberg genannte Megalith-Grabanlage (auch Großsteingrab Riesenberg). Das Grab wurde aus Findlingen gebaut und stammt aus der Jungsteinzeit auf Rügen. Es ist eines der größten Steingräber in Deutschland und liegt nur wenige Meter von der Steilküste am Tromper Wiek entfernt, unmittelbar am Weg oben auf der Klippe.

Siebenbrüder

Ein in der Nähe von Himmelreich liegendes Großsteingrab ist Siebenbrüder, eine Grabkammer, die von einem Steinring umgeben ist. Siebenbrüder kann in ca. 20 Minuten über die Mustitzer Baumallee zu Fuß erreicht werden. Die Grabstätte ist ziemlich gut erhalten und eine der besten Großsteingrabanlagen der Insel, jedoch nicht sehr bekannt.

Für mehr klicken Sie bitte hier und hier

Kontakt
↗ Verfügbarkeit überprüfen